Aileen Osofsky ACBL Goodwill Committee

The ACBL Goodwill Committee was organized in 1955 with John E. Simon as chairperson and Louise Durham as co-chairperson. In 1985, Aileen Osofsky became the chairperson and expanded the committee’s endeavors, to include the promotion of active ethics, awareness of those with disabilities such as hearing loss, support for junior bridge programs and the naming of a goodwill member of the year.

At the Summer 2010 NABC in New Orleans, Louisiana, the Goodwill Committee was renamed the Aileen Osofsky ACBL Goodwill Committee in her memory and in appreciation of her 25 years of service as chairperson of the committee.

Each member of the ACBL Board of Directors is entitled to appoint two lifetime members from their district annually. Goodwill Day is celebrated on the Monday of each NABC.

The individuals appointed to the Aileen Osofsky ACBL Goodwill Committee by District 9 Directors are shown in the National Goodwill Committee Appointees list.

Districts and units were encouraged to establish and recognize their own Goodwill Committees.

District 9’s Board of Directors adopted and operates in accordance with the ACBL Goodwill Charter. Annually, the five Unit Presidents are empowered to make appointments to the committee.

Appointees are to embody the same attributes identified for the national committee nominees:

  • Greet and Welcome Opponents
  • Always Say, “Director, please”
  • Lead or Place Dummy before You Write
  • Mentor a New Player
  • Say, “Thank You, Partner”
  • Compliment Opponent’s Play
  • Discuss Hands after the Game
  • Accept Defeat and Victory with Grace
  • Leave a Tidy Table
  • Smile Often!

For District 9, nominations for appointment to this prestigious committee are solicited every year by the district’s Goodwill Chairperson. ​The individuals who have been appointed to District 9’s Goodwill Committee are shown in the D9 Goodwill Committee Appointees list.